Database Search Results: S

Find databases starting with the letter:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents.
(more info)
Safari Tech Books Online (O'Reilly) Safari Tech Books Online is a ready-reference resource covering certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more technologies.
(more info)
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
(more info)
Sanborn Maps of Illinois
Sanborn maps are large-scale, historic plans of cities and towns in Illinois. They include information such as outline of each building, the size, construction materials, heights, location of windows and doors, street names and property boundaries.

(more info)
Saskia Art Images Collection
Collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches, the Uffizi, and the Louvre and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt.

(more info)
Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
(more info)
Science Direct (Elsevier) ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
(more info)
Science of Synthesis provides critical reviews of the organic and organometallic synthetic literature, with full-text descriptions of organic transformations and synthetic methods, experimental procedures, and citations back to the primary literature. The collection can be searched by text or chemical structure.
(more info)
SciFinder-n Compilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
(more info)
SciFinder-n Registration In order to create a SF-n account, you must complete a one time registration at the link above using your luc.edu email address. After submitting the registration form you will receive an email with a link and instructions to complete the registration process.
(more info)
Scitation An index to leading journals and conference proceedings from American Institute of Physics Publishing (AIP) and AIP Member Societies.
(more info)
Scopus Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
(more info)
Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
(more info)
Shakespeare Collection The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
(more info)
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) SIAM books are a source of knowledge for the world’s applied mathematics and computational science communities. Almost 400 books are available for institutions to offer to their users electronically. Note: Scitation has turned into SIAM.
(more info)
Simmons Insights Features demographic and psychographic data on U.S. adult consumer trends with consumer profile reports regarding product and brand usage, spending behaviors, lifestyles and attitudes as well as media use. Allows 10 simultaneous users. Please click on the "Sign Out" button on the upper right-hand side of the page after you are done to free up the seats for others. Works best on Microsoft Internet Explorer or Firefox.
(more info)
SimplyAnalytics (previously SimplyMap) A web-based mapping application that creates professional quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. To access, first create a personal workspace. Be sure to view the tutorial video for additional training.
(more info)
Slavery & Anti-Slavery Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. The collection is available in four parts including: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
(more info)
Social Explorer Provides historical census data and demographic information from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, updates from the American Community Survey, Census tract-level estimates, Religious Congregations and Membership Study data, and Carbon Emissions data. Limited to 3 concurrent users.
(more info)
Social Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
(more info)
Social Services Abstracts Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals.
(more info)
Social Work Abstracts Indexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.
(more info)
Social Work Reference Center Social Work Reference Center (SWRC), a resource designed specifically for clinical practice, education and research. Designed as a point-of-care reference, it provides recent evidence-based information to social workers and other mental health professionals through a variety of content types including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and skill competency checklists. The resource also includes clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules and patient education information.
(more info)
Sociological Abstracts Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
(more info)
Something About the Author
Covering individuals ranging from established award winners to those just beginning their careers. This series can be accessed via the Gale Virtual Ref Library collection. At the main page, choose the Literature category to access the individual volumes.

(more info)
Special Ed Connection Special Ed Connection emphasizes school and childhood disability law. It includes information on legal and policy updates and news, advocacy information, working with autism spectrum disorders, IDEA (Individuals with Disability Education Act), FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act) and ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act).
(more info)
SportBusiness Professional SportBusiness Professional provides unique news, analysis, data, consulting and events which deliver competitive advantage to executives in the business of sport.
(more info)
SportDiscus Covers both serial and monographic literature in sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.
(more info)
Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) Features market research and industry news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. Formally, SBRnet.
(more info)
Sports Market Place Directory
The Sports Market Place Directory provides organization's contact information with detailed descriptions including: Key Contacts, physical, mailing, email and web addresses plus phone and fax numbers. Plus, nine indexes that provide the following: Entry Index, Single Sport Index, Media Index, Sponsor Index, Agency Index, Manufacturers Index, Brand Name Index, Facilities Index and Executive/Geographic Index.

(more info)
Springer Link A collection of full-text math and science journals.
(more info)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Provides a comprehensive source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; company information; industry surveys; and directories.
(more info)
State Papers Online: The Government of Britain Select State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.
(more info)
Statista Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
(more info)
Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
(more info)
Swank Motion Pictures
Swank is a database of popular Hollywood titles that you can stream to your students - think Netflix but for education! Titles are limited and do NOT come with Public Performance Rights (cannot be screened to groups outside of the classroom). Swank's titles are on an a la carte basis- contact the Media Services Librarian, James Conley, to request a title to be added to this database. Please note that not all films can be added and due to studio copyrights sometimes titles once available are pulled for re-release in theaters. You can browse the full selection of titles to add here.

(more info)

chat loading...

Make a Gift