Database Search Results: O

OmniFile Full Text Select Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.

(more info)

Oral History Online (Alexander Street Press) Oral History Online provides access to more than 2,700 collections. It contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Ever since the national rise of "Black Studies" during the second half of the twentieth century, this field has focused on the distinctive individuals, places, events, concepts, and circumstances of African American history from the seventeenth century to the present -- from the early national period, when New World Africans first reckoned with Enlightenment preconceptions of race, to the new millennium, when African Americans continue to negotiate the conditions of their lives in the United States. African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field's institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: American Literature Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides scholarly examination of American literature including postmodern theory to debates about the canon, slave narratives, and comic books. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study. Researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources and tools to help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic Histories Atlantic history is a developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon assumptions about how to understand the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between 1492 and the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This resource invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources with tools that can help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics Classical Studies has access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable resources, and helpful search tools to find the right sources in all media.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. This is an excellent resource to locate background sources on a wide variety of topics.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies Oxford's Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. From history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies, this resource contains several primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation is a resource, spanning the 14th through 17th centuries. This resource is designed to provide guidance with list citations, reference tools and traditional bibliographies.

(more info)

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.

(more info)

Oxford History of Western Music ONLINE Includes the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music (OUP 2009) with notes, bibliographies, and further readings for all 69 chapters. Also includes more than 1,700 editorially selected links to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.

(more info)

Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove) Oxford Music Online comprises updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. Titles include: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992), The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014).

(more info)