Database Search Results: Sociology

Academic Search Complete Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
(more info)
AdForum AdForum.com is an information provider focused on the global advertising industry. It partners with the trade press worldwide, advertising award shows, to provide access to information on 24,000 agencies and 150,000 campaigns (TV, print, interactive, etc.).
(more info)
Alexander Street Press Streaming media Access to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
(more info)
Alternative Press Index 1991-Present Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
(more info)
Alternative Press Index Archive Alternative Press Index Archive is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Includes coverage of theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians.
(more info)
America: History and Life Abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals, 6,000 book and media revies, and dissertations in the social sciences and humanities.
(more info)
Annual Reviews Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Published yearly in focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
(more info)
Anthropology Online Provides the complete works of the key practitioners and theorists throughout the discipline. Relevant to study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, this database contains more than 1800 documentary films and 100,000 pages of full-text material, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. This database is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online.
(more info)
Anthropology Plus A combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
(more info)
Black Studies in Video Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
(more info)
Child Development & Adolescent Studies Current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1927-2001) plus new coverage of Child Rights and welfare issues.
(more info)
Data Planet (formerly US Political Stats) Data Planet provides an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
(more info)
Data Z (previously State Data Lab) Data Z is a project of Truth in Accounting (TIA). This site extends TIA’s capabilities by surrounding data and analysis with tools and external data for context. The site is intended to enable citizens, students, the press, legislators and staff, think tanks and financial analysts to better understand their state governments’ financial and economic condition. The site contains state financial data and external demographic and economic data, along with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.
(more info)
DSM Legacy Collection Previous editions of DSM are included for reference and archival purposes. Included in this collection are: DSM-I: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual: Mental Disorders (1952), DSM-I Special Supplement: on plans for revision to better align with the International Classification of Diseases (1965), DSM-II: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 2nd Edition (1968), DSM-II 6th printing change: Elimination of Homosexuality as a mental disorder and substitution of the new category Sexual Orientation Disturbance (1973), DSM-III: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition (1980), DSM-III-R: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition—Revised (1987), DSM-IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (1994), DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (2000)
(more info)
Film Platform FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.
(more info)
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 956 titles, equaling approximately 752 hours.

(more info)
GenderWatch GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. It includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
(more info)
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, & Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
(more info)
Historical Abstracts Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)
(more info)
Institute for Research on Poverty The IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States.Iit has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest.
(more info)
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Bibliography of the European middle ages c.400-1500. Entries are drawn from the regular coverage of over 4,000 periodicals and from 5,000 miscellaneous volumes, conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
(more info)
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
(more info)
JSTOR A collection of electronic books and full-text journals. Books are provided by leading academic and open access publishers. Journal titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
(more info)
New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts The collection includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award-winning short films.
(more info)
OmniFile Full Text Select Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
(more info)
Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online e-book library from Oxford University Press. OSO covers subjects across the humanities, economics and political sciences.
(more info)
Project Muse Over 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
(more info)
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
(more info)
Roper Center The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. ****NOTE: Individual registration is required for access, using luc.edu email only
(more info)
Scopus Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
(more info)
Slavery & Anti-Slavery Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. The collection is available in four parts including: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
(more info)
Social Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
(more info)
Sociological Abstracts Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
(more info)
Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
(more info)
Vogue Archive The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history.
(more info)
Women's Magazine Archive Collection I Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.
(more info)
Women's Studies International Covers the core disciplines - including sociology, history, political science & economics, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education - in Women's Studies for the latest scholarship in feminist research.
(more info)

Make a Gift