Database Search Results: History

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) Academic Video Online contains over 70,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.

(more info)

Acta Sanctorum An electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in 68 volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Examines the lives of saints organized according to each saint's feast day.

(more info)

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 A collection of African American periodicals covering Antebellum to Contemporary eras. Search by topic, key word, or date range.

(more info)

Alternative Press Index 1991-Present Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.

(more info)

American Film Institute Catalog The AFI Catalog strives to be comprehensive in its coverage of American films. Included is film production information, credits and cast lists, song and music information and detailed plot summaries.

(more info)

American National Biography American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. For British biography, see the Dictionary of National Biography (DNB).

(more info)

American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1940) Full-text/full-image resource of 1,000 periodical titles published between 1741 and 1940.

(more info)

Anthropology Online Provides the complete works of the key practitioners and theorists throughout the discipline. Relevant to study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, this database contains more than 1800 documentary films and 100,000 pages of full-text material, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. This database is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online.

(more info)

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature The corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard. Limited to 3 concurrent users.

(more info)

Aristoteles Latinus Database The complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle. The texts included are prepared and supervised by the Aristoteles Latinus Centre of the Catholic University of Leuven, and produced in collaboration with the CTLO.

(more info)

Art Index Retrospective Provides access to citations to the Art Index volumes 1-32 published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

(more info)

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work. Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.

(more info)

Beckett Digital Manuscript Project The project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett’s manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, and a search engine.

(more info)

Bibliography of Asian Studies This vital resource contains close to 688,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc., published from 1971 until the present day.

(more info)

Black Studies Center Black Studies Center combines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.

(more info)

Book Review Index Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications.

(more info)

Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

(more info)

Cambridge Collection Online Cambridge Core is the place to find useful and inspirational research as well as academic information. With over 1 million journal articles and 30,000+ books, Cambridge Core is a great destination for academic research.

(more info)

Cambridge Histories Online Historical reference compendium of renowned texts from the Cambridge Histories series, comprising over 250 volumes published since 1960. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.

(more info)

Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online incorporates the Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Style Q&A, and convenient Tools including sample forms and style sheets.

(more info)

Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1986) Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune between 1849-1986.

(more info)

Corpus Thomisticum A project with five key parts: a full edition of the complete works of St. Thomas, a bibliography covering all studies on Aquinas, an index of the main tools of Thomistic research, a database mgmt. system, and a digital edition of Aquinas' works.

(more info)

Database of Latin Dictionaries Comprised of 3 kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries.

(more info)

Dictionary of National Biography The DNB offers 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. For Americans, see the American National Biography.

(more info)

Dictionary of Old English: A to I Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries of the English language. Features a listing of every spelling attested for a word, frequency counts of each word in the corpus, usage labels, and exhaustive citation for words of 12 or fewer occurrences.

(more info)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, created by scanning the microfilm of this set: over 4500 reels of film and 22 million pages of text.

(more info)

Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives (ECCO) Digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century, this database provides full-text searching in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

(more info)

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2nd Edition) This encyclopedia's second edition looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

(more info)

Filmakers Library Online

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 956 titles, equaling approximately 752 hours.

(more info)

Goldsmiths'- Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850 Part I of the Making of the Modern World series; this resource includes digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Provides full-text searching on more than 12 million pages.

(more info)

Gutenberg-e Columbia University's online E-book project.

(more info)

HarpWeek (1857-1912) HarpWeek provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, a primary resource for examining nineteenth century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Editorials, news stories, illustrations, cartoons, and even advertisements are included.

(more info)

Historical Abstracts Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)

(more info)

Historical Statistics of the United States Designed to give users a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data. Users can create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.

(more info)

Humanities E-Book Project The Humanities E-Book Project (formerly the History E-Book project), was created by the American Council of Learned Societies. Now with over 1500 titles of interest to historians, it has expanded to most humanities disciplines.

(more info)

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 The Illustrated London News is the world’s first illustrated weekly newspaper. This Historical Archive covers from the initial launching of the newspaper in 1842 to its last issue in 2003. It serves a crucial primary source database for British history and significant world events. The database has more than one and half million color facsimile images. Searches can be limited to sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, people, and commentary or illustrations. A feature called Research Tools gives access to a collection of essays that highlight primary source content in this database.

(more info)

Index of Medieval Art The Index of Medieval Art is a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects, primarily before 1400 AD with no geographic limitations.

(more info)

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

(more info)

Latin American Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive

Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

(more info)

Library of Latin Texts Containing over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors. The selected texts are from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BC) through to the 2nd Vatican Council(1962-65). Limited to 3 concurrent users.

(more info)

Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1987) Provides indexing and full text content to the Los Angeles Times from 1881 through 1984. All sections and articles within the Times are fully viewable including, commentaries, letters to the editor, editorials, entertainment news, radio and television schedules, classified ads, advertisements, photographs, and comics.

(more info)

Middle English Compendium Three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary (MED), a HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.

(more info)

Naxos Music Library Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. Select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Students / Members may create their own private playlists after creating a Student / Member Playlist Account. Click on the Playlist tab to sign up. You will need to sign into your student playlists account to access your personal playlists or log in to access the NML mobile apps (Andriod/iOS).

(more info)

New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2009)

(more info)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) A group of digital primary source collections from the “long” nineteenth century, NCCO content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics and more. The NCCO platform allows for searches across different content types and offers annotation and tagging tools. Materials for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and will be added over several years. Loyola Libraries currently subscribes to the following Archives: British Politics and Society, Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and the Corvey Collection of European Literature.

(more info)

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and many others.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Ever since the national rise of "Black Studies" during the second half of the twentieth century, this field has focused on the distinctive individuals, places, events, concepts, and circumstances of African American history from the seventeenth century to the present -- from the early national period, when New World Africans first reckoned with Enlightenment preconceptions of race, to the new millennium, when African Americans continue to negotiate the conditions of their lives in the United States. African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field's institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic Histories Atlantic history is a developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon assumptions about how to understand the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between 1492 and the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics Classical Studies has access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable resources, and helpful search tools to find the right sources in all media.

(more info)

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.

(more info)

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Fully searchable, comprehensive dictionaries and unique study materials in the following languages: French, German, Italian, Spanish.

(more info)

Palmer's Index to The Times Fully-searchable electronic index to The Times from 1790-1905.

(more info)

Patrologia Latina An online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855. It comprises the works of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216.

(more info)

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.

(more info)

Reference Universe Reference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.

(more info)

Safari Tech Books Online (O'Reilly) Safari Tech Books Online is a ready-reference resource covering certification, enterprise computing, Java, Linux/Unix, Web development, Windows, XML, and more technologies.

(more info)

Saskia Art Images Collection

Collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches, the Uffizi, and the Louvre and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt.

(more info)

Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

(more info)

Slavery & Anti-Slavery Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. The collection is available in four parts including: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.

(more info)

State Papers Online: The Government of Britain Select State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.

(more info)

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a collection of digitized literary texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th Century B.C.E. to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453. USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

(more info)

Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive Contains every page of the TLS published from 1902-2013 including all reviews, letters, poems and articles. The identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed allowing for greater depth in literary research.

(more info)

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Bibliographic database providing detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

(more info)

Washington Post Historical (1877-2002) Complete full text electronic access to the historical Washington Post from 1877-2002.

(more info)

Women's Magazine Archive Collection I Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

(more info)