Database Search Results: Communication

Academic Search Complete Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
(more info)
Access World News Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.
(more info)
AdForum AdForum.com is an information provider focused on the global advertising industry. It partners with the trade press worldwide, advertising award shows, to provide access to information on 24,000 agencies and 150,000 campaigns (TV, print, interactive, etc.).
(more info)
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 A collection of African American Newspapers from across the United States. Search by paper, keyword or date range.
(more info)
African American Periodicals 1825-1995 A collection of African American periodicals covering Antebellum to Contemporary eras. Search by topic, key word, or date range.
(more info)
Alternative Press Index 1991-Present Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
(more info)
American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1940) Full-text/full-image resource of 1,000 periodical titles published between 1741 and 1940.
(more info)
AP Newsroom (Associated Press) One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
(more info)
Art Full Text Covers the world of the arts from architecture to video, including art publications worldwide and serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications.
(more info)
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 A collection of Caribbean Newspapers from the American Antiquity Society.
(more info)
Chicago Defender Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, radicalism, and anti-lynching legislation. Coverage: 1910-2010.
(more info)
Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online incorporates the Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Style Q&A, and convenient Tools including sample forms and style sheets.
(more info)
Chicago Tribune (1985-current) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
(more info)
Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1986) Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune between 1849-1986.
(more info)
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship Provides access to several bibliographic and full-text indexes to Journals in the area of Communications Scholarship.
(more info)
Communication & Mass Media Complete CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other top journals in communication and media studies. This resource offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.
(more info)
Communication Abstracts A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
(more info)
Communication Abstracts via CIOS Communication Abstracts provides coverage of recent literature in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
(more info)
CQ Almanac The CQ Almanac is arranged in topical chapter format, providing an overview of the year's issues and political action. Navigate through 60 years of congressional coverage, browse by subject, decade or by a particular year's table of contents.
(more info)
Early American Newspapers, Series 1- 3 This comprehensive collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers of 18th-century America and beyond. Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City Also includes: African American Newspapers Caribbean Newspapers
(more info)
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books.
(more info)
Film Platform FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.
(more info)
Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release now provides 956 titles, equaling approximately 752 hours.

(more info)
HarpWeek (1857-1912) HarpWeek provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, a primary resource for examining nineteenth century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Editorials, news stories, illustrations, cartoons, and even advertisements are included.
(more info)
IBIS World Industry Market Research Provides 25 to 45-page downloadable industry reports for all 5-digit NAICS codes. Reports can be searched by keyword or NAICS codes, or browsed by sector.
(more info)
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 The Illustrated London News is the world’s first illustrated weekly newspaper. This Historical Archive covers from the initial launching of the newspaper in 1842 to its last issue in 2003. It serves a crucial primary source database for British history and significant world events. The database has more than one and half million color facsimile images. Searches can be limited to sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, people, and commentary or illustrations. A feature called Research Tools gives access to a collection of essays that highlight primary source content in this database.
(more info)
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni) Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
(more info)
Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 features the complete 62-year run of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times.
(more info)
Los Angeles Times Current coverage of the LA Times newspaper. Gives the perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues.
(more info)
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1987) Provides indexing and full text content to the Los Angeles Times from 1881 through 1984. All sections and articles within the Times are fully viewable including, commentaries, letters to the editor, editorials, entertainment news, radio and television schedules, classified ads, advertisements, photographs, and comics.
(more info)
Mintel Reports Unique reports on consumer, media and market research. Create a profile with your @luc.edu email address to get started.
(more info)
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
(more info)
New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2009)
(more info)
New York Times 1980-current Full-text electronic edition of the New York Times from 1980-current issue. For older issues, see the Historical edition. Advertisements are not included.
(more info)
OmniFile Full Text Select Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
(more info)
Oxford Reference Online Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
(more info)
Passport GMID Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources.
This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959)
(more info)
Project Muse Over 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
(more info)
ProQuest Civil War Era Illuminates the cultural, regional, ethical, and economic viewpoints from the American Civil War period. Includes eight regionally balanced cover-to-cover newspapers and nearly 2,000 pamphlets.
(more info)
Roper Center The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. ****NOTE: Individual registration is required for access, using luc.edu email only
(more info)
Saskia Art Images Collection
Collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches, the Uffizi, and the Louvre and archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt.

(more info)
SimplyAnalytics (previously SimplyMap) A web-based mapping application that creates professional quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. To access, first create a personal workspace. Be sure to view the tutorial video for additional training.
(more info)
Sociological Abstracts Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
(more info)
Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) Features market research and industry news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. Formally, SBRnet.
(more info)
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Provides a comprehensive source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; company information; industry surveys; and directories.
(more info)
Statista Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
(more info)
Vogue Archive The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history.
(more info)

chat loading...

Make a Gift