Database Search Results: Anthropology

Alexander Street Press Streaming media Access to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.

(more info)

Annual Reviews Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Published yearly in focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

(more info)

Anthropology Plus A combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.

(more info)

Black Studies in Video Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.

(more info)

Ethnographic Video Online Ethnographic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video resource. It brings together thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines. With thousands and thousands of complete titles (not clips) and growing by more than 400 titles per month.

(more info)

GenderWatch GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. It includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

(more info)

Indigenous Peoples: North America Archive Covers the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.

(more info)

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Ever since the national rise of "Black Studies" during the second half of the twentieth century, this field has focused on the distinctive individuals, places, events, concepts, and circumstances of African American history from the seventeenth century to the present -- from the early national period, when New World Africans first reckoned with Enlightenment preconceptions of race, to the new millennium, when African Americans continue to negotiate the conditions of their lives in the United States. African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field's institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

(more info)

Social Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.

(more info)