Database Search Results:

AAFP Conditions A to Z
A patient-information tool written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented concisely and informatively.

(more info)
ABC CLIO Electronic Reference Library Offers the same high-quality, authoritative, scholarly information researchers have come to expect from ABC-CLIO plus enhanced readability via a new reading pane, improved search and browse capabilities, and more.
(more info)
American Film Institute Catalog The AFI Catalog strives to be comprehensive in its coverage of American films. Included is film production information, credits and cast lists, song and music information and detailed plot summaries.
(more info)
American National Biography American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. For British biography, see the Dictionary of National Biography (DNB).
(more info)
Birds of the World Birds of the World engages the global ornithological community to create the most in-depth, science-based content to illustrate the life histories of birds and bird families.
(more info)
Brill Online Reference Works This platform provides access to all Brill reference works which Loyola subscribes to. These resources are also listed individually on the database list. Loyola subscriptions will be designated with a green box.
(more info)
Brill's New Pauly - Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World The English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY. 15 volumes are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history. 5 volumes are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity.
(more info)
Cambridge Structural Database The Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) is a repository of small molecule crystal structures. The CSD System also comprises software for database access, structure visualisation and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.
(more info)
Chicago Manual of Style Online The Chicago Manual of Style Online incorporates the Citation Quick Guide, Chicago Style Q&A, and convenient Tools including sample forms and style sheets.
(more info)
Children's Literature Review
Literary criticism on writers and illustrators for children & young adults. This resource is included within the Gale Literature Criticism Online collection. Choose Children's Literature Review (CLR) in the By Series box before beginning your search.

(more info)
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

(more info)
Contemporary Authors
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for nearly 100,000 writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama and other fields.

(more info)
Dictionary of Literary Biography Provides biographical and bibliographical references for nearly 100,000 writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama and other fields.
(more info)
Dictionary of National Biography The DNB offers 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. For Americans, see the American National Biography.
(more info)
Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus Online database consisting of at least one copy of every Old English text.More than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date.
(more info)
Dictionary of Old English: A to I Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries of the English language. Features a listing of every spelling attested for a word, frequency counts of each word in the corpus, usage labels, and exhaustive citation for words of 12 or fewer occurrences.
(more info)
Drugs.com The publishers of PDR now provide the same information online for free at Drugs.com. This site includes an A-Z list of drugs, side effects, drug interaction reports and various medical reference tools to aid in searching.
(more info)
DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders The standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be applicable in a wide array of contexts and used by clinicians and researchers of many different orientations.
En español: DSM-5 Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de los Trastornos Mentales
(more info)
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (now Britannica Academic)
Consists of a fully searchable and browse-able, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
3rd ed. Provides topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. Researchers can consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
The Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. Includes related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics, 2nd edition
Offers the definitive reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Global Change Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
(more info)
Encyclopedia of Islam Details Islamic religion, life and culture across the globe. The geographical and temporal scope includes the early Islamic Empire, Ottoman Empire, and contemporary Islamic regions and nations including Central Asia, Iran, and Indonesia.
(more info)
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2nd Edition) This encyclopedia's second edition looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
(more info)
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd ed.
A comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Covers the range of life sciences research. It highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Includes 6,000 color illustrations, 30,000 internal cross-references and 30,000 external bibliographic references for further reading..

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience
Offering a comprehensive and highly readable guide to a complex and fast-expanding field, this five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Population
Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, some topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates, etc.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
This reference tool examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Includes biographies of significant theorists, political & social leaders and notorious racists.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Religion 2nd ed. Provides a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
(more info)
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
This reference tool addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.

(more info)
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
2nd ed. Corresponds to 16 volumes of the print reference. Provides information about statistical theory and its applications in various scientific fields. New updates cover topics from computer technology to genetics.

(more info)
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
(more info)
Gale Directory Library
The trusted source for authoritative directories on companies, publishers, associations and more. This portal allows access to all Gale directories subscriped to by the Loyola Libraries.

(more info)
Gartner Resource for IT business information. Gartner Reports provide technology forecasts and anaylysis. Use your loyola network (LOCUS) ID to login.
(more info)
Grove Art Online (Oxford) Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.
(more info)
Grove Music Online (Oxford)
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

(more info)
Historical Statistics of the United States Designed to give users a variety of means to search and navigate the vast amount of data. Users can create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
(more info)
Homeland Security Digital Library Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, this the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. .Includes US. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents.
(more info)
IBIS World Industry Market Research Provides 25 to 45-page downloadable industry reports for all 5-digit NAICS codes. Reports can be searched by keyword or NAICS codes, or browsed by sector.
(more info)
IMF International Financial Statistics Online Contains time series data from 1948. Includes Country, World, and Commodity Prices Tables. Economic Concept View provides a cross-country view of the concepts in the IFS by individual or groups of countries.
(more info)
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family 2nd ed. Adopts an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency, and commuter marriages.
(more info)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
(more info)
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Online
Provides a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and scholars from Plato to modern times, examining developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism.

(more info)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) JCR offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluating the world's leading journals based citation data. JCR measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals
(more info)
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology The Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.
(more info)
Lexikon des Mittelalters The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Limited to 3 concurrent users.
(more info)
Major Acts of Congress An illustrated encyclopedia of congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic up through recent years.
(more info)
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law A comprehensive analytical resource covering the whole of public international law that represents a new edition of the print version published between 1991 and 2001. New and updated content will be added on a rolling basis.
(more info)
Mergent Online An Internet-based suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research.
(more info)
Middle English Compendium Three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary (MED), a HyperBibliography of Middle English Prose and Verse based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
(more info)
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
(more info)
New Encyclopedia of Africa, 2nd ed.
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.

(more info)
OED Online
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.

(more info)
Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.
(more info)
Oxford History of Western Music ONLINE Includes the full text from the Oxford History of Western Music (OUP 2009) with notes, bibliographies, and further readings for all 69 chapters. Also includes more than 1,700 editorially selected links to relevant entries in Grove Music Online.
(more info)
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online Fully searchable, comprehensive dictionaries and unique study materials in the following languages: French, German, Italian, Spanish.
(more info)
Oxford Reference Online Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
(more info)
Peterson's Guides
Provides detailed profiles of 2,010 four-year and 1,520 two-year colleges and universities throughout the United States and Canada. Includes complete information on application requirements, tuition and financial aid for both grad and undergrad programs.

(more info)
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
(more info)
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
(more info)
Something About the Author
Covering individuals ranging from established award winners to those just beginning their careers. This series can be accessed via the Gale Virtual Ref Library collection. At the main page, choose the Literature category to access the individual volumes.

(more info)
Statistical Abstract of the United States Standard summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the U.S. Includes data from governmental and private sources. Serves as a guide to other statistical sources.
(more info)
U.S. Occupational Outlook Handbook
Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. Published by the U.S. Department of Labor.

(more info)
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Bibliographic database providing detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
(more info)
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry, Fifth Edition Concise one-volume encyclopedia for students at all levels. Fifth Edition covers such new topics as nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, combinational chemistry, and materials science.
(more info)
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies Provides up-to-date information on more than 112,000 public and private companies, including full contact details, rankings and analysis. (Click 'Companies & Consultancies' on the right hand side to access the directory.)
(more info)

chat loading...

Make a Gift