Database Search Results:

Access World News Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.
(more info)
America's News Magazines
Provides full-text coverage of popular news magazines. Includes Fortune, People, Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, and Parenting among others.

(more info)
American National Election Studies ANES produces data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to help researchers better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
(more info)
American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1940) Full-text/full-image resource of 1,000 periodical titles published between 1741 and 1940.
(more info)
American Verse Project
Full-text electronic archive of selected volumes of American poetry prior to 1920. Most of the archive is made up of 19th century poetry, although a few 18th century and early 20th century texts are included.

(more info)
Anthropology Online Provides the complete works of the key practitioners and theorists throughout the discipline. Relevant to study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, this database contains more than 1800 documentary films and 100,000 pages of full-text material, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives. This database is cross-searchable with Ethnographic Video Online.
(more info)
AnthroSource The American Anthropological Association (AAA) collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings.
(more info)
Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature The corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard. Limited to 3 concurrent users.
(more info)
Aristoteles Latinus Database The complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle. The texts included are prepared and supervised by the Aristoteles Latinus Centre of the Catholic University of Leuven, and produced in collaboration with the CTLO.
(more info)
Black Studies Center Black Studies Center combines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender.
(more info)
Burney Collection of 17th and 18th Century Newspapers The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
(more info)
Cambridge Collection Online Cambridge Core is the place to find useful and inspirational research as well as academic information. With over 1 million journal articles and 30,000+ books, Cambridge Core is a great destination for academic research.
(more info)
Cambridge Companions Online Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; and Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics.
(more info)
CDRI: Digital resources for the study of religion
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the American Theological Library Association and Association of Theological Schools is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries.

(more info)
Chicago Defender Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, radicalism, and anti-lynching legislation. Coverage: 1910-2010.
(more info)
Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current
Complete electronic full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded

(more info)
Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1986) Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune between 1849-1986.
(more info)
Chronicle of Higher Education A source for news and information from the world of academia. The full text of the current issue is available online every Monday morning. The Archive provides access to past issues from January 1995 to the present. You can now download full issues of the Chronicle to your iPad. Create an account on the Chronicle's website using your Loyola email address. Activate the account by following the directions in your email. Download the app at http://chronicle.com/ipad and sign in with your new account.
(more info)
CIOS: Communication Institute for Online Scholarship Provides access to several bibliographic and full-text indexes to Journals in the area of Communications Scholarship.
(more info)
Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse A collection of Middle English texts including Chaucer's Canterbury Tales & Troilus and Criseyde, Langland's Piers Plowman, Malory's Morte Darthur, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Everyman, and many others.
(more info)
Corpus Thomisticum A project with five key parts: a full edition of the complete works of St. Thomas, a bibliography covering all studies on Aquinas, an index of the main tools of Thomistic research, a database mgmt. system, and a digital edition of Aquinas' works.
(more info)
CQ Almanac The CQ Almanac is arranged in topical chapter format, providing an overview of the year's issues and political action. Navigate through 60 years of congressional coverage, browse by subject, decade or by a particular year's table of contents.
(more info)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, created by scanning the microfilm of this set: over 4500 reels of film and 22 million pages of text.
(more info)
eHRAF World Cultures Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
(more info)
Eighteenth Century Collection Digital Archives (ECCO) Digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century, this database provides full-text searching in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
(more info)
Entrez PubMed An integrated, text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for the major databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others.
(more info)
First Folio of Shakespeare
Based on copies of the 1623 First Folio in the Folger Shakespeare Library. This SGML encoded edition is fully searchable and has been provided by the Oxford Text Archive.

(more info)
Global Newsstream (formerly Proquest Newstand) Provides access to current, full-text newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, The Boston Globe, Newsday, and Los Angeles Times as well as over 80 Gannett regional and local titles. In addition, Global Newsstream content also includes newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
(more info)
Global Terrorism Database This open source database includes information on terrorist events around the world since 1970 (currently updated through 2004), with systematic data on international as well as domestic terrorist incidents.
(more info)
Going Global
A research tool that provides tips for finding employment opportunities at home and abroad. Setting up a personal account allows access to Going Global from an off-site location.

(more info)
Going Global - USA Career Guides
Research career and employment opportunities in the largest cities of the US. Setting up a personal account allows access to Going Global from an off-site location.

(more info)
Goldsmiths'- Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850 Part I of the Making of the Modern World series; this resource includes digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Provides full-text searching on more than 12 million pages.
(more info)
HarpWeek (1857-1912) HarpWeek provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, a primary resource for examining nineteenth century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Editorials, news stories, illustrations, cartoons, and even advertisements are included.
(more info)
Historical Newspapers Allows cross-searching of the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975), the New York Times (1850-2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
(more info)
ICPSR Data Access An archive of social science data for research and instruction in the social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Read the information carefully before downloading data sets from ICPSR or placing requests with Research Computing.
(more info)
Illinois Newspapers
Fulltext electronic access to over 90 regional daily and weekly newspapers across Illinois. Advertisements are not included.

(more info)
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 The Illustrated London News is the world’s first illustrated weekly newspaper. This Historical Archive covers from the initial launching of the newspaper in 1842 to its last issue in 2003. It serves a crucial primary source database for British history and significant world events. The database has more than one and half million color facsimile images. Searches can be limited to sections such as advertising, news and business, arts and leisure, people, and commentary or illustrations. A feature called Research Tools gives access to a collection of essays that highlight primary source content in this database.
(more info)
Indigenous Peoples: North America Archive Covers the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. The archive includes monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections. Sources include the National Archives and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Library, the Alaska Indian Language Collection of Gonzaga University, and the W.S. Prettyman photograph collection of Wichita State University.
(more info)
Institute for Research on Poverty The IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States.Iit has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest.
(more info)
Jacoby Online Full-text collection of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity divided into parts: genealogy and mythography; chronography (political-military history); horography and ethnography; biography; and geography.
(more info)
Latin American Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive
Provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.

(more info)
Library of Latin Texts Containing over 53 million Latin words, drawn from more than 2800 works that are attributed to approximately 860 authors. The selected texts are from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronius, 240 BC) through to the 2nd Vatican Council(1962-65). Limited to 3 concurrent users.
(more info)
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1987) Provides indexing and full text content to the Los Angeles Times from 1881 through 1984. All sections and articles within the Times are fully viewable including, commentaries, letters to the editor, editorials, entertainment news, radio and television schedules, classified ads, advertisements, photographs, and comics.
(more info)
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine's consumer health web portal. It contains reputable information on health topics, drugs and supplements, the latest medical news, and more in a variety of reading levels and languages, including Spanish.

(more info)
Mideast Wire.com
A daily email newsletter of translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media within 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.

(more info)
Naxos Sheet Music Library This Naxos Music Library offers over 45,000 sheet music titles, powered by FreeHandMusic.com. The library delivers digital sheet music in all classical genres, spanning music from Medieval to the 21st century and composers from Bach to Arvo Part. In addition, the new interface provides a "Print-In-Browser" functionality so users no longer need to utilize special software to enjoy the library. For those that do prefer the viewer, fear not, it's still available (but has been updated, so a new download is required).
(more info)
New York Times 1980-current Full-text electronic edition of the New York Times from 1980-current issue. For older issues, see the Historical edition. Advertisements are not included.
(more info)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) A group of digital primary source collections from the “long” nineteenth century, NCCO content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics and more. The NCCO platform allows for searches across different content types and offers annotation and tagging tools. Materials for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and will be added over several years. Loyola Libraries currently subscribes to the following Archives: British Politics and Society, Asia & West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange, and the Corvey Collection of European Literature.
(more info)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities. Each issue is reproduced cover to cover.
(more info)
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and many others.
(more info)
Pastmasters A collection of primary-source full-text works of Philosophy. Includes Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein and others.
(more info)
Patrologia Latina An online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855. It comprises the works of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216.
(more info)
Roper Center The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. ****NOTE: Individual registration is required for access, using luc.edu email only
(more info)
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents.
(more info)
Sanborn Maps of Illinois
Sanborn maps are large-scale, historic plans of cities and towns in Illinois. They include information such as outline of each building, the size, construction materials, heights, location of windows and doors, street names and property boundaries.

(more info)
Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
(more info)
SimplyAnalytics (previously SimplyMap) A web-based mapping application that creates professional quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. To access, first create a personal workspace. Be sure to view the tutorial video for additional training.
(more info)
Slavery & Anti-Slavery Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. The collection is available in four parts including: Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Part III: The Institution of Slavery, and Part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
(more info)
State Papers Online: The Government of Britain Select State Papers Domestic and Foreign from the UK National Archives. Documents the British government in the 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries.
(more info)
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a collection of digitized literary texts in Greek from the time of the poet Homer in the 8th Century B.C.E. to the fall of the Byzantine Empire in 1453. USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.
(more info)
Value Line One of the largest independent, objective and unbiased sources for investment research. The company collects data and analyzes performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 13,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities.
(more info)
Washington Post 1977-current Complete fulltext electronic access to the Washington Post 1977-current. Advertisements are not included.
(more info)
Women and Social Movements Scholar's Edition Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible.
(more info)

chat loading...

Make a Gift