Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Search Results:

  • Academic Search Complete Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

    (more info)

  • ACM Digital Library Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947 are available in the library together with selected works published by affiliated organizations.

    (more info)

  • Acta Sanctorum An electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in 68 volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Examines the lives of saints organized according to each saint's feast day.

    (more info)

  • AdForum AdForum.com is an information provider focused on the global advertising industry. It partners with the trade press worldwide, advertising award shows, to provide access to information on 24,000 agencies and 150,000 campaigns (TV, print, interactive, etc.).

    (more info)

  • African American Newspapers 1827-1998 A collection of African American Newspapers from across the United States. Search by paper, keyword or date range.

    (more info)

  • African American Periodicals 1825-1995 A collection of African American periodicals covering Antebellum to Contemporary eras. Search by topic, key word, or date range.

    (more info)

  • African American Studies Center Provides access to more than 10,000 articles covering the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browsing capabilities. (3 simultaneous users)

    (more info)

  • Afro-Americana Imprints Afro-Americana Imprints contains one of the preeminent collections for African-American studies including books, pamphlets, and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints that span 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century.

    (more info)

  • Agricola Contains materials on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition and environmental sciences.

    (more info)

  • Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (previously Environmental Abstracts) Agricultural & Environmental Science Database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

    (more info)

  • Alexander Street Press Streaming media Access to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.

    (more info)

  • Alternative Press Index 1991-Present Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.

    (more info)

  • Alternative Press Index Archive Alternative Press Index Archive is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Includes coverage of theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians.

    (more info)

  • America: History and Life Abstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals, 6,000 book and media revies, and dissertations in the social sciences and humanities.

    (more info)

  • American Historical Periodicals Collection The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to a diverse collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912 that together offer multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America.

    (more info)

  • Ancestry Library The Ancestry Library collection provides coverage for genealogical research within the United States and the United Kingdom. It includes census, vital, church, court, and immigrations records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas,

    (more info)

  • Annee Philologique, L' (Brepols) Published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, includes 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2004, with 12,500 new records added each year.

    (more info)

  • Anthropology Plus A combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.

    (more info)

  • ArchiveGrid Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the items in these collections, arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

    (more info)

  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender Part 3: Sex and Sexuality in the 16th through 20th Centuries A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Sixteenth to Twentieth Centuries contains approximately 1 million pages of content from 1600-1940 that’s been locked away for many years.

    (more info)

  • Art Full Text Covers the world of the arts from architecture to video, including art publications worldwide and serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications.

    (more info)

  • Art Index Retrospective Provides access to citations to the Art Index volumes 1-32 published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

    (more info)

  • ARTFL The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago. ARTFL also supports many Public Access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.

    (more info)

  • ArticleFirst Contains citations that describe items listed on the table of contents pages of journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

    (more info)

  • Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work. Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.

    (more info)

  • Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research including the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

    (more info)

  • Beckett Digital Manuscript Project The project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett’s manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, and a search engine.

    (more info)

  • Bibliographie de Civilisation Medievale A comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes. With an initial focus on the Central Middle Ages, it has gradually expanded to the Early and Late Middle Ages. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

    (more info)

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies This vital resource contains close to 688,000 references to books, journal articles, individually-authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc., published from 1971 until the present day.

    (more info)

  • Bibliography of British and Irish History Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55 BC to the present. Limited to 3 concurrent users.

    (more info)

  • Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.

    (more info)

  • Bloomsbury Collections Bloomsbury Collections provides nearly 11,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing.

    (more info)

  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.

    (more info)

  • Book Review Index Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications.

    (more info)

  • Brill's Companions to Classical Studies Online Brill's Companions to Classical Studies is a leading series of handbooks providing graduate-level synthesis of debate and the state of scholarship on key authors and subjects from Antiquity. Each volume contains an up-to-date general bibliography. Volumes published have covered authors such as Ovid, Herodotus, Cicero, Thucydides and Propertius, and thematic volumes on Flavian Rome, Greek and Roman Historiography in Late Antiquity, Greek and Latin Pastoral and Hellenistic Epigram. The database provides online access to the companions.

    (more info)

  • Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982 Chronicles the technological advances, business strategies, marketing triumphs and failures, company profiles, iconic executives, and more from more than 70 years of business scholarship.

    (more info)

  • Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Many of the reports are published by Datamonitor.

    (more info)

  • Cabells Predatory Reports Findings from specialists who analyze over 60 behavioral indicators to determine journals that are probable threats, including reports identifying the specific predatory behaviors that the evaluation revealed.

    (more info)

  • Cambridge Histories Online Historical reference compendium of renowned texts from the Cambridge Histories series, comprising over 250 volumes published since 1960. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.

    (more info)

  • Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 A collection of Caribbean Newspapers from the American Antiquity Society.

    (more info)

  • Catalog of Government Publications The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

    (more info)

  • ccAdvisor A searchable, authoritative, peer-reviewed guide to scholarly academic databases, websites, and tools. Every review written by a subject-area expert to the standards of The Charleston Advisor and Choice.

    (more info)

  • Chicago Tribune (1985-current) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

    (more info)

  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies Current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography (1927-2001) plus new coverage of Child Rights and welfare issues.

    (more info)

  • CINAHL Plus with Full-text CINAHL Plus includes the fulltext for more than 560 journals. Indexing and abstracting for nursing & allied health journals. Also include PreCINAHL, a companion database providing current awareness of new journal articles.

    (more info)

  • Clase Periodica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities with 400,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

    (more info)

  • Cochrane This resource contains the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Definitive Controlled Trials, and the Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR). You can find reviews based on a comprehensive and expert analysis of the available medical literature, selected systematic reviews on the effectiveness of clinical interventions and policies, and 350,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care in this resource.

    (more info)

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other top journals in communication and media studies. This resource offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study.

    (more info)

  • Communication Abstracts A comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 244,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of communication discipline and depth encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

    (more info)

  • Communication Abstracts via CIOS Communication Abstracts provides coverage of recent literature in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).

    (more info)

  • Consumer Health Complete CHC provides consumer-oriented health content in all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

    (more info)

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts Includes more than 200,000 bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

    (more info)

  • Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety. Documentaries and interviews provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system. This resource features titles by In the Line of Duty, BBC, and A&E Television.

    (more info)

  • Data Planet (formerly US Political Stats) Data Planet provides an all-in-one resource for social science researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.

    (more info)

  • Data Z (previously State Data Lab) Data Z is a project of Truth in Accounting (TIA). This site extends TIA’s capabilities by surrounding data and analysis with tools and external data for context. The site is intended to enable citizens, students, the press, legislators and staff, think tanks and financial analysts to better understand their state governments’ financial and economic condition. The site contains state financial data and external demographic and economic data, along with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.

    (more info)

  • Database of Latin Dictionaries Comprised of 3 kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries.

    (more info)

  • Docuseek Streaming Video Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue, and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution. Their titles include films from Bullfrog, Icarus, and National Film Board of Canada titles and are all available a la carte via request from the Media Services Librarian at http://libraries.luc.edu/media.

    (more info)

  • Drama Online Drama Online introduces new writers alongside iconic names in play-writing history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. The collection ranges from theater studies, literature courses, drama schools; the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the personal.

    (more info)

  • DSM Legacy Collection Previous editions of DSM are included for reference and archival purposes. Included in this collection are: DSM-I: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual: Mental Disorders (1952), DSM-I Special Supplement: on plans for revision to better align with the International Classification of Diseases (1965), DSM-II: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 2nd Edition (1968), DSM-II 6th printing change: Elimination of Homosexuality as a mental disorder and substitution of the new category Sexual Orientation Disturbance (1973), DSM-III: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition (1980), DSM-III-R: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 3rd Edition—Revised (1987), DSM-IV: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (1994), DSM-IV-TR: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 4th Edition (2000)

    (more info)

  • DSM-5 Guia de Estudio La Guía de Estudio del DSM-5® es un complemento didáctico indispensable del Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de los Trastornos Mentales, 5ª edición, que ayudará al lector a entender los criterios diagnósticos y los conceptos del DSM-5.®

    (more info)

  • DSM-5 Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de los Trastornos Mentales Esta nueva edición del Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de Trastornos Mentales (DSM5®), utilizado por médicos e investigadores para diagnosticar y clasificar enfermedades mentales, es producto de más de 10 años de esfuerzo de cientos de expertos internacionales en todas las áreas de la salud mental. Gracias a su duro trabajo y dedicación se ha elaborado una obra de referencia que define y clasifica los trastornos mentales con el objetivo de mejorar los diagnósticos, tratamientos y en la investigación.

    (more info)

  • DSM-5-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (Text revision) The updated version of the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be applicable in a wide array of contexts and used by clinicians and researchers of many different orientations.

    (more info)

  • Early American Newspapers, Series 1- 3 This comprehensive collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers of 18th-century America and beyond. Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation Early American Newspapers, Series 2: The New Republic Early American Newspapers, Series 3: From Farm to City Also includes: African American Newspapers Caribbean Newspapers

    (more info)

  • EconLit Compiled and abstracted in an easily searchable format, EconLit is a comprehensive index of economic journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.

    (more info)

  • Education Index Retrospective Provides comprehensive indexing to approximately 570 education-related periodicals that are international in scope. EIR includes over 800,000 article citations, including citations to book reviews.

    (more info)

  • Education Research Complete Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties

    (more info)

  • Educational Administration Abstracts Includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

    (more info)

  • Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics The Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online brings users aspects of the history and study of the Hebrew language from its earliest attested form to the present day. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, the Encyclopedia of Hebrew Language and Linguistics Online is a useful reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.

    (more info)

  • Environment Abstracts (now Agricultural & Environmental Science Database) Agricultural & Environmental Science Database encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

    (more info)

  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.

    (more info)

  • ERIC via EBSCO Includes thousands of educational topic, journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Also searches the Professional Development Collection, a specialized collection of hundreds of full text articles.

    (more info)

  • Ethnographic Video Online Ethnographic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video resource. It brings together thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines. With thousands and thousands of complete titles (not clips) and growing by more than 400 titles per month.

    (more info)

  • Factiva Factiva provides national and international content, including the Dow Jones and Reuters newswires, as well as The Wall Street Journal. It provides timely information from financial quotes, market data, newspapers, companies and industry news. Users can conduct in-depth research on companies, industries and regional affairs. There are 22 language interfaces and over 100 countries with multilingual content from more than 8,000 sources.

    (more info)

  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books.

    (more info)

  • Film Platform FILM PLATFORM serves as a bridge between academia and documentary film, bringing the most relevant and highly regarded films from the festival circuit. The collection is meticulously curated by film experts and leading academics to showcase critically-acclaimed documentaries of social, political and cultural importance, and the catalogue is continually growing.

    (more info)

  • Fish, Fisheries, and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This collection combines databases on all facets of ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture, and aquatic & marine biology. Included in this resource are records from the now ceased database Aquatic Biology, Aquaculture, & Fisheries Resources (ABAFR), plus twelve major fish and fisheries databases.

    (more info)

  • Foreign Law Guide (Brill Online) The Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is a database that offers relevant on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination.

    (more info)

  • Foundation Directory This resource provides access to 120,000+ foundations and corporate donors, 3 million recent grants and more than half a million key decision makers. Familiarize yourself with a range of different funding sources to find the best fit.

    (more info)

  • Gale Digital Scholar Lab Gale Digital Scholar Lab allows users to explore Loyola's holdings from Gale Primary Sources using Digital Humanities tools. Enabling new ways of interrogating content, analyzing insights and discoveries. Users can: create custom content sets containing as many as 10,000 documents. Choose the Microsoft choice and login with your university ID.

    (more info)

  • Gale Literary Index

    A master index to every literary series published by Gale. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names including pseudonyms and variant names and more than 140,000 sources into one source.

    (more info)

  • Gale Primary Sources Gale Primary Sources is a specialized search interface that allows users to search across multiple historical databases, including Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO), and Sabin Americana. Gale Primary Sources also includes advanced tools for analyzing and organizing primary source information.

    (more info)

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

    (more info)

  • GenderWatch GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Subjects covered include: business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology, gender and women's studies and more. The database provides in-depth coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's lives. It includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure.Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.

    (more info)

  • Global-Regulation.com Global-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 250,000 statutes and regulations, with links to official, full-text sources (translated into English) from over 30 jurisdictions (including the United States).

    (more info)

  • Google Scholar Indexes peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

    (more info)

  • GPO: Monthly Catalog Includes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

    (more info)

  • GreenFILE

    This bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.

    (more info)

  • Guia de Estudio DSM-5 La Guía de Estudio del DSM-5® es un complemento didáctico indispensable del Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de los Trastornos Mentales, 5ª edición, que ayudará al lector a entender los criterios diagnósticos y los conceptos del DSM-5.®

    (more info)

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Bibliography on Latin America. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Over 5,000 entries annually.

    (more info)

  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) A database of evaluation and measurement tools in health and psycho-social studies. Instruments available include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, and interview schedules.

    (more info)

  • Health Source: Consumer Edition Focuses on health from a consumer and patient perspective. The database contains over 150 full text general health, nutrition and professional health care publications, full text for over 1,000 health-related pamphlets.

    (more info)

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Provides more than 400 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.

    (more info)

  • HeinOnline HeinOnline indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more.

    (more info)

  • Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI) Indexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, & Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.

    (more info)

  • Historical Abstracts Complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life)

    (more info)

  • Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective Indexes nearly 1200 periodicals from 1907-1984 (including 240,000+ book reviews.) A wide range of interdisciplinary fields are covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, as well as many important scientific journals.

    (more info)

  • IEEE Xplore The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a research database for electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes access to over 3.5 million full-text documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.

    (more info)

  • Index Islamicus Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes material about other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

    (more info)

  • Index of Medieval Art The Index of Medieval Art is a thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval art objects, primarily before 1400 AD with no geographic limitations.

    (more info)

  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Produced by the American Association of Law Libraries, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in nearly 500 legal journals published worldwide. IFLP provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the U.S., the U.K., Canada, and Australia. The HeinOnline version includes links to the full text (PDF) of more than 34,000 articles and book reviews in more than 100 periodicals that are available in other HeinOnline Libraries. Coverage is from 1985 to the present, plus browsable access to the digitized version of the entire print index dating back to 1960. If you need assistance in navigation IFLP, a Quick Reference Guide is available online.

    (more info)

  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text Contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Avant Garde Theatre, British Realist Theatre, Community Theatre, History of European Drama and Theatre, Learning Through Theatre, Opera, Performance Theory, Popular Theatres of Nineteenth Century France, Shakespeare, Theory and Performance, Sourcebook on Feminist Theatre and Performance, Theatre and the World, Twentieth-Century Actor Training, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more.

    (more info)

  • International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Bibliography of the European middle ages c.400-1500. Entries are drawn from the regular coverage of over 4,000 periodicals and from 5,000 miscellaneous volumes, conference proceedings, essay collections and Festschriften. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

    (more info)

  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance A bibliography of 250,000+ articles and reviews drawn from 400+ medieval and renaissance journals. Plus a growing bibliography of monographs pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

    (more info)

  • Jesuit Historiography Online (Brill Reference) JHO contains over seventy historiographical essays addressing a multitude of topical and geographical approaches to Jesuit history, providing "summaries of key texts from the earlier literature, painstaking surveys of more recent work, and digests of archival and online resources." This resource is available in open access thanks to generous support from the Institute for Advanced Jesuit Studies at Boston College.

    (more info)

  • Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) EBP Database The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) EBP Database has a range of resources, including over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

    (more info)

  • JoVE Science Education JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) Science Education is a video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. Each video is paired with additional video resources for you to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.

    (more info)

  • JoVE Unlimited Video resources for science education and research. Content automatically updates with scientific developments and educational resources. Collection includes JoVE Core, JoVE Lab Manual, JoVE Science Education, JoVE Encycopedia of Experiments and JoVE Journal.

    (more info)

  • Key Business Ratios Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides online access to competitive benchmarking data. This tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

    (more info)

  • LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni) Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.

    (more info)

  • LexisNexis Congressional (ProQuest) Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and more. Lexis Congressional is now called ProQuest Congressional.

    (more info)

  • Listener Historical Archive 1929-1991 The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 features the complete 62-year run of The Listener, the BBC periodical published from 1929-1991. The Listener was a weekly magazine established by the BBC in 1929. It was the intellectual counterpart to the BBC listings magazine, Radio Times.

    (more info)

  • Literature Criticism Online Included Gale Literary Criticism Collections: Contemporary, 20th-Century, 19th-Century, Shakespearean, 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, Drama and Children's. Also includes Dictionary of Literary Biography & Something About the Author.

    (more info)

  • Loeb Classical Library The Loeb Classical Library is a resource that presents an interconnected, searchable, growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Users will find epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and other Greek and Latin Classical texts with English translations.

    (more info)

  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 The Making of Modern Law covers the watershed period of legal development during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This archive is the world's most comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises of the period.

    (more info)

  • Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 The Making of Modern Law: Trials:1600-1926 covers a range of legal history from the beginnings of the modern period to the early twentieth century. This archive is the result of a partnership between Gale and the Harvard, Yale and British libraries as well as the collection of the Library of the Association of Bar of the City of New York.

    (more info)

  • Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 Contains over 10 million pages of documents submitted to the Supreme Court, including briefs and petitions, oral transcripts, memoranda, and more. Covers 75,000 cases, including cases for which the Court did not issue a full opinion.

    (more info)

  • Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de los Trastornos Mentales. DSM-5® Esta nueva edición del Manual Diagnóstico y Estadístico de Trastornos Mentales (DSM5®), utilizado por médicos e investigadores para diagnosticar y clasificar enfermedades mentales, es producto de más de 10 años de esfuerzo de cientos de expertos internacionales en todas las áreas de la salud mental. Gracias a su duro trabajo y dedicación se ha elaborado una obra de referencia que define y clasifica los trastornos mentales con el objetivo de mejorar los diagnósticos, tratamientos y en la investigación.

    (more info)

  • MarketLine MarketLine offers data and up-to-date information on companies, industries and countries across the world. This resource profiles all major companies, industries and geographies. Its content is produced by an internal team of analysts, drawing on primary and secondary research and prepared under an established methodology.

    (more info)

  • MAS Ultra: School Edition A full-text database designed specifically for high school students, with full-text sources at various reading levels. MAS Ultra is recommended for use by student teachers for lesson planning; it does not contain college-level content.

    (more info)

  • MasterFILE Premier Contains full text for nearly 1,750 periodicals, 500 reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 440,000 photos, maps & flags.

    (more info)

  • MathSciNet A searchable database providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940-present.

    (more info)

  • Medline Medline is a comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records.

    (more info)

  • MEDLINE (ISI Citation Indexes) The National Library of Medicine's database of biomedical records and abstracts covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

    (more info)

  • Merck Index Online The Merck Index is a resource containing information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It contains 11,500 monographs and is updated regularly with new information.

    (more info)

  • Mergent Archives Mergent Archives is an online database featuring an indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. The database contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries.

    (more info)

  • Military & Government Collection Provides full text from over 320 military and general interest publications. Also offers indexing and abstracts for over 360 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.

    (more info)

  • Mintel Reports Unique reports on consumer, media and market research. Create a profile with your @luc.edu email address to get started.

    (more info)

  • MLA International Bibliography with Full Text The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

    (more info)

  • Monumenta Germaniae Historica A collection of medieval historical sources for the study of Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the Middle Ages. The collection consists of six main divisions, Antiquitates, Diplomata, Epistolae, Leges, Scriptores, and Alia as well as numerous subseries.

    (more info)

  • Morningstar Investment Research Center Contains information on more than 30,000 stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Provides independent analysis, industry information, stock charts, portfolio building tools, and web-based educational tutorials.

    (more info)

  • Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music One of the most comprehensive online resources devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Containing more than 9,000 pages of material, 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples. This resource is also listed as The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online.

    (more info)

  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstract Database Provides summaries of federal, state, and local government reports and transcripts, books, research reports, training materials, program descriptions, statistics, journal articles, audiovisual products, and unpublished research. Covers corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, hate crimes, school safety, ex-offender programs, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.

    (more info)

  • National Information Resource on Ethics and Human Genetics- NIREHG

    Funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute and NIH this resource supports numerous information services including links to genetics organizations, digital collections, DNA patents, bibliographies,syllabi and print publications.

    (more info)

  • National Journal: Presentation Center Over the past ten years, the number of places to get information about what’s happening in Washington has doubled, making it harder to identify and distill the most important information. To combat this growing challenge of information overload, in 2012, National Journal launched the Presentation Center: a database of easy-to edit slides and charts that members could download and re-purpose in their own Washington updates.

    (more info)

  • NBER Working Papers The National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.

    (more info)

  • New Testament Abstracts A product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.

    (more info)

  • New World Cinema: Independent Features & Shorts The collection includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award-winning short films.

    (more info)

  • New York Review of Books The New York Review of Books (or NYRB) is a biweekly magazine on literature, culture, and current affairs published in New York which takes as its point of departure that the discussion of important books is itself an indispensable literary activity.

    (more info)

  • New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993) This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2009)

    (more info)

  • Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.

    (more info)

  • Old Testament Abstracts Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included.

    (more info)

  • OmniFile Full Text Select Provides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.

    (more info)

  • Opposing Viewpoints Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline

    (more info)

  • Oral History Online (Alexander Street Press) Oral History Online provides access to more than 2,700 collections. It contains pointers to over 4,200 audio and video files and almost 19,000 bibliographic records.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Art Online (Grove) Comprises the full text of The Dictionary of Art, (34 vols) The Oxford Companion to Western Art. Including ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies Ever since the national rise of "Black Studies" during the second half of the twentieth century, this field has focused on the distinctive individuals, places, events, concepts, and circumstances of African American history from the seventeenth century to the present -- from the early national period, when New World Africans first reckoned with Enlightenment preconceptions of race, to the new millennium, when African Americans continue to negotiate the conditions of their lives in the United States. African American Studies is now a vibrant, complex, and growing field for the intellectual and curricular mission of centers, institutes, programs, and departments at colleges and universities across the country. Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies represents another step in the field's institutional progress. Regularly updated and expanded with new content, the module will provide bibliographic articles that identify, organize, cite, and annotate scholarship on key areas of African American Studies -- culture, politics, law, history, society, religion, and economics.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies Offers authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Includes concise treatment of large topics such as "Slavery in Africa" or "Famine" to quickly get you up to speed and expert recommendation on the best works available in African Studies whether it be a chapter, a book, a journal article, a Website, blog, or data set.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: American Literature Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides scholarly examination of American literature including postmodern theory to debates about the canon, slave narratives, and comic books. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study. Researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources and tools to help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology Oxford Bibliographies in Anthropology is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship. The entries highlight old and new terms including classic terms within the field and relatively new ones that are still gaining public acceptance. By placing these new concepts in conversation with older ones this guide provides a complete overview of the discipline's intellectual trajectory.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic Histories Atlantic history is a developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon assumptions about how to understand the nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between 1492 and the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Biblical Studies The study of the Bible is a technical and multifaceted field, demanding expertise in areas ranging from archaeology, Egyptology, Assyriology, and linguistics through textual, historical, and sociological studies, to literary theory, feminist studies, philosophy, and theology. This resource provides students and scholars with a new discoveries, methodologies, and perspectives in an effort to better interpret the Bible.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This resource invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources with tools that can help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies Oxford Bibliographies offer item level overviews and references to important works. OBO Cinema & Media Studies includes resource on: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics Classical Studies has access to key primary source texts and a range of electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies in Classics provides students and scholars with a reliable resources, and helpful search tools to find the right sources in all media.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Environmental Science Oxford Bibliographies in Environmental Science provides the base for initiating, continuing, or expanding your research on all issues related to the environment and our interaction with it, which includes but is not limited to the physical sciences, the planning and social sciences, the health sciences, engineering, governance, policy, and more.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. This is an excellent resource to locate background sources on a wide variety of topics.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies Compiled by noted Latin American scholars, this set of area studies bibliographies represents numerous disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, literature, art, anthropology, and political science. Sample topics range from indigenous studies and the Conquest and colonial history and society, to race, immigration, the role of women, significant political events and cultural studies in contemporary Latin America. New bibliographies are scheduled to be added in each Fall and Spring.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies Oxford's Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. From history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies, this resource contains several primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy Selected, annotated bibliographies, arranged by broad topic (e.g. epistemology, free will) and major philosopher. Each section includes an introductory essay written by a scholar.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation is a resource, spanning the 14th through 17th centuries. This resource is designed to provide guidance with list citations, reference tools and traditional bibliographies.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Dictionaries Fully searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials in the following language combinations: English to Spanish, Italian, French, and German.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion Oxford Handbooks Online is a collection of 14 subject areas. We currently have access to Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice (selective content), History, Philosophy, and Religion. The Handbook series contain in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research.

    (more info)

  • Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove) Oxford Music Online comprises updated versions of previous Grove publications as well as hundreds of articles commissioned specifically for the online edition. Titles include: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992), The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994), The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013), The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014).

    (more info)

  • Palmer's Index to The Times Fully-searchable electronic index to The Times from 1790-1905.

    (more info)

  • PapersFirst PaperFirst provides access to over 580,000 individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's proceedings collection.

    (more info)

  • Passport GMID Euromonitor International's Global Market Information Database provides global business intelligence on industries, countries, and consumers. It offers integrated access to statistics, reports, insightful comment and business information sources.

    This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959)

    (more info)

  • Patrologia Graecae Contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.

    (more info)

  • Philosophers Index Indexes books and journals of philosophy covering ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.

    (more info)

  • PhilPapers PhilPapers is an index of the research literature in philosophy. It monitors sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. This index currently includes 1,096,212 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.

    (more info)

  • Play Index Covers over 31,000 plays written or translated into English published individually or in anthologies and collections from 1949 to the present.

    (more info)

  • Political Science Abstracts - World Wide Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

    (more info)

  • Primary Search Primary Search: Provides full text for 50 children's magazines and over 100 children's pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student. Primary Search is recommended for use by student teachers for lesson planning.

    (more info)

  • PrivCo PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo focuses on private company financial data, including M&A activity, investor information, and private equity and venture capital data, all very interconnected. The database covers of over 200,000 private companies, 11,000 investors, and nearly 80,000 private market deals.

    (more info)

  • Proceedings Provides tables of contents of papers presented at conferences worldwide.

    (more info)

  • Professional Development Collection Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. Including children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest Civil War Era Illuminates the cultural, regional, ethical, and economic viewpoints from the American Civil War period. Includes eight regionally balanced cover-to-cover newspapers and nearly 2,000 pamphlets.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest Congressional Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest Legislative Insight ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that provides access to thoroughly researched compilations of full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Compiled histories include the Public Laws (covering 1929 to the present), along with related bills, hearings, Congressional Research Service reports, committee prints, committee reports, Congressional Record sections, and Presidential Signing Statements, with all documents available as fully-searchable PDF files. ProQuest Legislative Insight also connects to ProQuest Regulatory Insight for access to related administrative law resources. Access is available on campus, or off campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest Newsstream ProQuest Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.

    (more info)

  • ProQuest Regulatory Insight ProQuest Regulatory Insight provides access to federal administrative law histories, organized by federal statute and Executive Order, allowing researchers to locate regulations that have been promulgated because of a particular law. Regulatory Insight creates its regulatory histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders by compiling pertinent Federal Register pages. Regulatory histories also include links to related relevant legislative history documents in ProQuest Legislative Insight. When complete, ProQuest Regulatory Insight will contain regulatory histories from 1936-2015, along with fully searchable PDFs of all Federal Register issues from 1936-present and of all CFR volumes from 1938-present. Access is available on campus, or off campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.

    (more info)

  • Psychiatry Online PsychiatryOnline is web-based portal that features DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry, other journals, textbooks, APA practice guidelines, self assessment tools, clinical and research news as well as medication information handouts.

    (more info)

  • Psychotherapy.net Psychotherapy.net offers a library of over 300 streaming videos featuring the leading practitioners of the field. These are some of the most popular titles in the areas of counseling and therapy, social work, psychology, and other cognitive fields of study.

    (more info)

  • PsycINFO Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

    (more info)

  • PubMed The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

    (more info)

  • Qurʾānic Studies Online (Brill Reference) Comprises three titles including the Dictionary of Qurʾānic Studies Usage, Encyclopedia of the Qurʾān, and the Qurʾān Concordance. -Dictionary of Qurʾānic Studies Usage is the first comprehensive, fully-researched and contextualised Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage. -Encyclopedia of the Qurʾān is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. -Qurʾān Concordance is a unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʾān.

    (more info)

  • Reader's Guide Retrospective A comprehensive index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, that reflects the history of 20th century America. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.

    (more info)

  • Reaxys Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry database consisting of deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information as well as bibliographic data, navigated and displayed via an actionable interface. Reaxys offers an unsurpassed depth of quality information – deeply excerpted compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information, as well as bibliographic data – in inorganic, organometallic and organic chemistry research.

    (more info)

  • Reference Universe Reference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.

    (more info)

  • Regional Business News Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

    (more info)

  • Religious and Theological Abstracts This resource provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. It lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions.

    (more info)

  • Research in Ministry Online Database that indexes DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology in the United States and Canada. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access and an author written abstract are provided.

    (more info)

  • Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

    (more info)

  • Science of Synthesis provides critical reviews of the organic and organometallic synthetic literature, with full-text descriptions of organic transformations and synthetic methods, experimental procedures, and citations back to the primary literature. The collection can be searched by text or chemical structure.

    (more info)

  • SciFinder-n Compilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.

    (more info)

  • SciFinder-n Registration In order to create a SF-n account, you must complete a one time registration at the link above using your luc.edu email address. After submitting the registration form you will receive an email with a link and instructions to complete the registration process.

    (more info)

  • Scitation An index to leading journals and conference proceedings from American Institute of Physics Publishing (AIP) and AIP Member Societies.

    (more info)

  • Scopus Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

    (more info)

  • Shakespeare Collection The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.

    (more info)

  • Simmons Insights Features demographic and psychographic data on U.S. adult consumer trends with consumer profile reports regarding product and brand usage, spending behaviors, lifestyles and attitudes as well as media use. Allows 10 simultaneous users. Please click on the "Sign Out" button on the upper right-hand side of the page after you are done to free up the seats for others. Works best on Microsoft Internet Explorer or Firefox.

    (more info)

  • Social Explorer Provides historical census data and demographic information from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, updates from the American Community Survey, Census tract-level estimates, Religious Congregations and Membership Study data, and Carbon Emissions data. Limited to 3 concurrent users.

    (more info)

  • Social Science Citation Index Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.

    (more info)

  • Social Services Abstracts Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 periodicals.

    (more info)

  • Social Work Abstracts Indexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.

    (more info)

  • Social Work Reference Center Social Work Reference Center (SWRC), a resource designed specifically for clinical practice, education and research. Designed as a point-of-care reference, it provides recent evidence-based information to social workers and other mental health professionals through a variety of content types including evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and skill competency checklists. The resource also includes clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules and patient education information.

    (more info)

  • Sociological Abstracts Indexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.

    (more info)

  • Special Ed Connection Special Ed Connection emphasizes school and childhood disability law. It includes information on legal and policy updates and news, advocacy information, working with autism spectrum disorders, IDEA (Individuals with Disability Education Act), FERPA (Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act) and ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act).

    (more info)

  • SportBusiness Professional SportBusiness Professional provides unique news, analysis, data, consulting and events which deliver competitive advantage to executives in the business of sport.

    (more info)

  • SportDiscus Covers both serial and monographic literature in sport: recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, the psychology, history and sociology of sport, training, and conditioning.

    (more info)

  • Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet) Features market research and industry news covering all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry including sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. Formally, SBRnet.

    (more info)

  • Sports Market Place Directory

    The Sports Market Place Directory provides organization's contact information with detailed descriptions including: Key Contacts, physical, mailing, email and web addresses plus phone and fax numbers. Plus, nine indexes that provide the following: Entry Index, Single Sport Index, Media Index, Sponsor Index, Agency Index, Manufacturers Index, Brand Name Index, Facilities Index and Executive/Geographic Index.

    (more info)

  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Provides a comprehensive source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; company information; industry surveys; and directories.

    (more info)

  • Statista Statista gathers statistical information on over 600 industries from over 10,000 different sources, such as market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.

    (more info)

  • Swank Motion Pictures

    Swank is a database of popular Hollywood titles that you can stream to your students - think Netflix but for education! Titles are limited and do NOT come with Public Performance Rights (cannot be screened to groups outside of the classroom). Swank's titles are on an a la carte basis- contact the Media Services Librarian, James Conley, to request a title to be added to this database. Please note that not all films can be added and due to studio copyrights sometimes titles once available are pulled for re-release in theaters. You can browse the full selection of titles to add here.

    (more info)

  • Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more.

    (more info)

  • The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926

    The Making of Modern Law covers the period of legal development during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, providing access to an archive of comprehensive, full-text, Anglo-American legal treatises of the period.

    (more info)

  • The Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 The Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 is the result of a partnership between Gale and the Harvard and Yale law libraries—two of the largest repositories in the world. In addition, it includes trials from the outstanding collection of the Library of the Association of Bar of the City of New York, as well as some from the British Library. These libraries have long collected not only published trial transcripts, but also popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery and other scandalous crimes. This archive grants researchers access to unofficially published accounts of trials, as well as briefs, arguments and other trial documents where these were printed as separate publications.

    (more info)

  • Times Digital Archive A searchable database of the The Times newspaper archives covering events from the French Revolution and the American Civil War through to the two World Wars of the twentieth century, as well as civil & political movements, crime, culture, and more.

    (more info)

  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive Contains every page of the TLS published from 1902-2013 including all reviews, letters, poems and articles. The identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed allowing for greater depth in literary research.

    (more info)

  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume I, Christianity Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library is a multi-volume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.

    (more info)

  • Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume IV, Eastern Religions The fourth installment of the Twentieth Century Religious Thought Library, presents the evolution of eastern religion through the seminal works of major religious thinkers. Explore the doctrines of Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, and Jainism from the late 19th century through the 21st century. Key themes and topics include afterlife, dharma, incarnation, karma, Maya, meditation, mindfulness, reincarnation, sacred texts, and Zen.

    (more info)

  • U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 Contains over 10 million pages of documents submitted to the Supreme Court, including briefs and petitions, oral transcripts, memoranda, and more. Covers 75,000 cases, including cases for which the Court did not issue a full opinion.

    (more info)

  • Vault Vault provides in-depth intelligence on what it’s really like to work within an industry, company, or profession—and how to position yourself.

    (more info)

  • Vogue Archive The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive is an essential primary source for the study of fashion, gender and modern social history.

    (more info)

  • Wall Street Journal

    Please CLICK HERE to register for an account before attempting to access this resource The Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from the last 90 days and search abilities back to 2008. See Factiva for archives to 1997. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again).

    (more info)

  • Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2001) Complete full text electronic access to the historical Wall Street Journal from 1889-2001.

    (more info)

  • WARC Provides access to over 45,000 papers, case studies and news summaries from over 40 international marketing and advertising sources.

    This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959).

    (more info)

  • Washington Post (website)

    Unlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from this link to gain access. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your “Account Settings”, click on the “My subscriptions” tab, and click “Activate free digital access” to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.

    (more info)

  • Washington Post Historical (1877-2002) Complete full text electronic access to the historical Washington Post from 1877-2002.

    (more info)

  • Web Gallery of Art The Web Gallery of Art is a searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (8th-19th centuries), currently containing over 41.100 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.

    (more info)

  • Web of Science (ISI Citation Indexes) A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.

    (more info)

  • Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based tool for research for business data from over 290 institutions around the world. This resource provides researchers with access to financial, economic, and marketing data though a uniform, web-based interface. WRDS provides access to COMPUSTAT, CRSP, IBES, NYSE-TAQ, Bureau van Dijk, Global Insight, OptionMetrics and other business research databases.

    (more info)

  • Winmo (formerly Redbooks) Winmo provides exclusive information on nearly 20,000 U.S. and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media, current agency, fiscal year-end and annual sales, contact information on key personnel, brand name info, S.I.C. & NAICS classifications, and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of nearly 15,000 U.S. and international advertising agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information on agency personnel and much more.

    (more info)

  • Women's Magazine Archive Collection I Complete archives of the foremost titles of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. In combination, the publications cover topics such as family life, home economics, health, careers, fashion, and culture.

    (more info)

  • Women's Studies International Covers the core disciplines - including sociology, history, political science & economics, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education - in Women's Studies for the latest scholarship in feminist research.

    (more info)

  • World Politics Review This database is a daily online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. Its original articles are written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world, including subject-matter experts from journalism, research organizations, academia, government and elsewhere. This database covers topics of key relevance to foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs.

    (more info)

  • World Shakespeare Bibliography Online The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.

    (more info)

  • WorldCat Discovery Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

    (more info)

  • WorldCat Firstsearch WorldCat is a catalog of catalogs. You can use it to search many libraries at once for an item and then locate it in a library nearby, including Loyola's collection. You can search for different kinds of media, put items on hold, and link to "Ask a Librarian" and other services at your library.

    (more info)

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

    (more info)

<< Back to Databases home page

chat loading...